Chronic Illness and Relationships Part 3 – Doctors

Last December my doctor realized I had a minor problem with my heart that I could choose to have fixed or leave.  If I had it fixed, it would save me from possible further trouble down the road and make it safe for me to have children if I chose to have children.  I opted to have the surgery so we promptly scheduled it. 

Not soon after it was scheduled,  I started having bizairre migraines symptoms – dizziness, weakness on the left side,  tremoring in my hands and mild chest pain.  I called the cardiologist who discussed my symptoms with a team and decided to see me,  but doubted it was cardiac. 

Well, around the same time, I decided to see my neurologist.  I had seen a doctor in the city the year before,  but hadn’t been a fan of her.  So I opted to see a new doctor.  He didn’t even look me over and simply said, ‘Why are you here! ? Your problem is cardiac.”

I went back to the doctor I had seen a year earlier and she insisted it was cardiac also.

My cardiologist had done an EKG, echocardiogram, and stress test.  After I saw him,  he listened to my heart and did another (EKG) I also was required to do one each time I went to the ER. The chances of it being cardiac were slim.

By this point, I knew it wasn’t cardiac,  but doctors insisted.

Finally,  I went to a neurologist that I had seen five years before and he started treating me for the migraines. 

My point being doctors can be frustrating.  I get it!  However,  we as patients can not view ourselves as innocent victims nor can we view all doctors as the enemy.  With all I went through, my PCP, cardiologist and eventually the neuro have given me faith in doctors. 

1. Just like any relationship,  our relationship with doctors is a give and take.  You should expect help and cooperation from your doctor – as well as expertise.  However,  your doctor isn’t perfect.  Your doctor isn’t a miracle worker.  Your doctor needs your patience,  understanding and honesty.  Blowing up on your doctor will not solve ANYTHING! Also, if you aren’t honest with your doctor about some habits they may overlook causes of your problem.

2. Don’t tolerate a bad doctor.  Some doctors just suck. As my mom says,  “Someone had to graduate at the bottom of their class.” Notice when the doctor refused to even evaluate me and declared it was cardiac I didn’t stick around.  I found a new doctor.   If your doctor gives you a diagnosis without an evaluation,  if your doctor says it’s all in your head or your doctor isn’t cooperative find a new doctor.  Some doctors shouldn’t even be in the profession.
3. If your PCP doesn’t know a lot about your illness bring in reputable information about it.  Doctors won’t really pay much attention to what someone writes in a blog or a forum page. 

Note: Be skeptical of blogs. Steer clear of one’s that offer fast cures or remedies,  medical advise that hasn’t been proven (or not given by a doctor. Practical advise is okay,  but not medical) or anything that goes against medical advice your doctor has given. &nbsp

This is the article I have been writing my last three blogs on. My advice may vary some, but not a lot.

http://healthheal.info/fibromyalgia-relationships/

Leave a Reply

