Health Care Considerations when Moving

As Seiya applies for jobs, we have to consider moving.  There are many jobs in our city, but his field Social Work Research is pretty specific.  Ideally we wouldn’t choose to move.  People say that we have nothing tying us down so we should go wherever we want.  I wish that were the case.  However, being chronically ill one big question I have to ask myself is, “How is the medical care there?”

I don’t like to get political on here though I’m very passionate about politics.  But I will say that I personally am a big fan of Obamacare.  Do I think that it’s perfect? No, but it has given healthcare to numerous people – including people like me who aren’t working but not on disability yet – access to great care I wouldn’t otherwise have.  Healthcare should not be a privilege.  It is a right.

That said – I also look at what states have the best health care overall.  I thankfully live in one of the second best states for health care in the country. So here is a list that I found of the best and worst states for health care.

1. Minnesota
2. Massachusetts/ Vermont/ New Hampshire

Worst

1. Mississippi
2. Louisiana/Oklahoma/Arkansas

Here is a more in-depth article.
http://www.dailykos.com/story/2014/05/05/1297121/-The-best-and-worst-states-for-health-care#

Leave a Reply

