The First Steps in a Long Process

Today I took the first few steps in the long process toward getting disability. I wouldn’t choose to go on disability if I felt there were another option, but I don’t see my condition clearing up any time soon. I wish.  I would love to be back in the classroom and getting to know students and making them laugh and seeing them progress.

I filled out an application on-line a few months ago and found that I’d received two letters about it that had somehow been misplaced. Today I called and answered some questions and then set up an interview.

It takes months and may even take years to get disability.  Many people are rejected the first time.  So if someone has disability they almost definitely really needed it.  It’s not a cop out.  It annoys me when people suggest that it is.

Things here have still been tense. Seiya has moved in some of his stuff – a desk, an island and two bikes.  I had no idea that boy came with so much “baggage” but seeing that every time we go camping he fills up and entire car (back seat and trunk) I really shouldn’t be surprised. In addition, I have an idea of what he has as I lived with him before.  There are still no job prospects and I’m hoping that will change soon.  I am worried about finances and making ends meet.  I don’t think this stress helps me physically.

I know that things will work out the way that they are supposed to in the end, but I really wish that they would hurry up.

Leave a Reply

