The Korean War at my Job

For those of you who don’ t know, I teach English as a Second Language online. Today I’m doing a lesson where students educate me about their culture.  I have been asking them things like, “At what age do Koreans learn to drive?” and “Do you see your grandparents often?” One of the questions is, “Have you learned something special from your grandparents?”  I expected answers like, “My grandmother taught me how to make gimbap or kimchi.”  or “My grandfather taught me about traditional Korean fighting technique.”  First I was talking to three little girls who are between the ages of 8 and 10.  And I asked them that question and one little girl whose so cute (despite being a little clueless at times…but let’s be honest if someone was teaching me in another language I’d be more than clueless) says, “My grandmother told me about how she had to hide during the War because some people wanted to kill her, but after a long time she came out.”  Then another little girl chimes in so sweetly, “Three of my great grandmother’s children died during the war.”

I brought it in a bit and asked them another question, “What age do you want to live to be?”  to which the first little girl said, “I don’t want to die!”

I changed that question for the next group of students.

I have been very fortunate to be able to find work from home.  Many people who are sick are denied disability the first time yet unable to work.  They want to work from home but find few legitimate options. I have been able to make a fairly good living from home by tutoring students on Skype, tutoring students for a Korean company via Google Hangout and making teaching products online. I used to think – if I can do it, why can’t other people – but I have a Master’s degree in Education and ESL is a booming field.

Here is a list of ways to make money at home for those that can. I am only posting a list that I have seen before online.

http://www.thepennyhoarder.com/ways-to-make-money-at-home/

Leave a Reply

